Sigma Xi Will Recognize Three Faculty Members

Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Honor Society, will recognize three faculty members from Texas A&M University for their exemplary achievements in science and engineering during the society’s national meeting in November.

In addition, each faculty member will serve as a plenary speaker at the society’s virtual research conference and art exhibit, “Hacking The Brain: The Intersection of Art and Neuroscience.”

“Congratulations to our remarkable faculty members on their selection for these well-deserved awards,” said Vice President for Research Mark A. Barteau. “Their individual contributions to bioinorganic chemistry, aerospace engineering and biomedical sciences are representative of Texas A&M’s commitment to expanding the frontiers of science and its applications. Recognition by Sigma Xi, a champion of the importance of scientific research, is a testament to the impact of these scholars.”

The three Texas A&M faculty members and the awards they will receive are:

  • Gerard L. Coté, professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering, Walston Chubb Award for Innovation, for “leadership in the development of biomedical optical systems for an array of medical applications with clinical impact.”
  • Marcetta Y. Darensbourg, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Science, William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement for “significant contributions to bioinorganic chemistry from her work on chemistry of the di-iron hydrogenases.”
  • Bonnie J. Dunbar, TEES Eminent Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering, John P. McGovern Science and Society Award, for “leadership and contributions in aerospace engineering; work spanning industry, academia and government; a commitment to furthering engineering and science education at Texas A&M; and outreach to K-12 students.”

The conference will take place virtually Nov. 5-8.